Why you might consider fleeing Los Angeles before the coming Zombie Apocalypse

Nathan A. Cunningham
4 min readMay 6, 2018

--

It’s pretty bad out there. But there is hope. If we take simple action.

First let me set some context.

My weekly routine involves one or two trail-runs in and around Santa Clarita, CA — what I like to call “the most northerly outpost of Los Angeles county”. Next stop: the Grapevine, the Mojave Desert, or Ventura and Santa Barbara.

On a typical run, I do my best to engage with those on the trail with a simple hello or at least some eye contact and smile depending on how difficult the running is. As a connector, it comes naturally to want to engage so it’s not difficult. These days I’m not easily offended when others who may be there to be alone or with their friends etc. don’t initiate a greeting or even a response.

One occasion, I ventured further afield to the Pacific Palisades near Malibu. I was determined to (and needed to, frankly) shut down my connector mode and get super focused on resting my mind. To do so, I avoided eye contact, suppressed my natural tendency to engage, and just thanked people who got out of my way.

Now, when exercising and out in nature we are or should generally experiencing the happy chemicals, right? Hold that thought.

About my warning about the Zombie Apocalypse.

As mentioned, I focused only on uttering a word or making eye contact when someone yielded or moved slightly so I could get by. I.e. the most basic common courtesy of saying “Thank you.”

Admittedly what follows is super unscientific. I encountered around 100 people on the trail over the course of 90 mins. Here is what I found and why you should flee Los Angeles when the Zombie Apocalypse hits:

  • 99% of people did not greet me as I passed by.
  • Around 25% gave me nasty looks. Ok, I was shirtless, so perhaps that accounted for some of it.
  • Around 25% were speaking other languages. Some of those were possibly tourists (so I guess we can give them a pass).
  • 75% acted as though I did not exist (hey, maybe I’m invisible, I don’t know).
  • Of all the people I thanked (maybe 25% or so) only one or two of them could exercise their vocal cords with so much as a “Welcome” or “You’re welcome” . Isn’t that the 3nd most basic element of common courtesy after please and thank you?
  • 1 smiling young man made a point to pause as I passed, made eye contact and said a friendly hello.

Now look, I know life is hard and we don’t always feel like exerting ourselves to make even a simple human connection and greet other human beings as our personal space intersects.

But on a beautiful trail? On a weekend? In one of the most beautiful places in the world?

Aren’t at least a percentage of those people naturally outgoing people, who within their circles are incredible kind and loving human beings — I’d say all of them love their families and their friend. That was in full evidence among the people I passed.

But what’s happened to the idea of loving our neighbor?

If what I observed in one of the most beautiful areas on the planet, on a beautiful evening, on a weekend, in a glorious city is anything to go by, the rest of the city might be a bit of scary place to live when the Zombie Apocalypse hits. I’m just saying.

And, when you flee, please don’t come north to Santa Clarita.

Can we please start a movement?

If you come north to Santa Clarita, or if you choose not to flee, how about joining me — and that one other smiling person or the few that remember some elements of common courtesy out there — in simply saying “hello”, or “you’re welcome” when you pass by someone. On a trails, sidewalks, walking paths, and especially when you are literally in each others personal space.

(And to those out there training hard in our outdoor gym on the trail, maybe let’s add an “Excuse me, etc.. And if on a mountain bike avoid the risk of running people over etc.)

Maybe, just maybe, we can create a movement that means Los Angeles gets a little more united than divided. And continues to be an amazing place to live. But because of the incredible and kind and neighborly people that live here.

Will you join me? Is the above easy enough to follow?

Did you recognize that image of “the first follower“ above?

It’s from a video almost 5 million people have viewed in the last 8 years. It’s narrated by Derek Sivers who makes some great observations about leadership and starting movements.

Here it is the video:

Here is a longer video of a TED talk that he gave:

--

--